Council Structure

Appleby-in-Westmorland Town Council represent approximately 3,000 Appleby residents and is the third tier of local government. There are 16 Councillors, 8 each for the Wards of Appleby and Bongate. Councillors are elected for a term of four years and are are unpaid. Council meetings are held in the Council Chamber at the Moot Hall and are open to the public and the press.

The Council has 7 part time employees who fulfill the Council’s statutory duties, managed by the Town Clerk, who manage a range of services including the Tourist Information Centre and Public Hall. The Council also owns 6 retail units, which are leased to local businesses.

To see more of Appleby Town Council’s responsibilities, click here.